The Fab ad that made me shake my head and complain (why parenting is hard)

Screen Shot 2013-09-12 at 10.54.44 PM

Image 1: This is the start of the email. Oh, look, cute toys for kids. How nice. (now go to image 2)

[Adult content included in this post. You’ve been warned.]

Screen Shot 2013-09-12 at 10.57.09 PM

Image 2: Oh, cute stuffed animals and dolls. (go to image 3)

Today’s Fab email showcased cool toys for kids: dolls, bikes, scooters, bubble gum machines, etc. And I thought, I should forward this to my daughter. She’ll think it’s cute.

Screen Shot 2013-09-12 at 10.57.44 PM

Image 3. Bubble gum machine – a staple of childhood. (go to image 4)

And then I looked at the very last box with the headline, “Your Personal Playthings: Bedroom toys for boys and girls.”

Hmm. Bedroom toys for boys and girls? Really? What kind of toys are those? I wonder.

And I looked. Wow, has the world changed that much since I was kid?

Bottom right-hand corner. Oh, man.

Image 4: Oh, look, robots and kids playing. Then, bottom right-hand corner. WTF are those?

So, if I order a doll, scooter and robot for my child, I should get them a vibrator too? How confusing.

I complained. Fab was very nice, as they always are. They’re a good company with outstanding customer service, a model other companies should follow.

But this ad?

I’m wondering how the meeting to put this one together went: “Yo, Charlie, I need to fill one more space in the ad. I’m running low on ideas. What else do kids like to play with?”

[Charlie responds] “Holy crap, you idiot, it’s common knowledge kids like anything that takes batteries.”

I ask you, my good friends, and I’m no prude, but was the placement of adult sexual aids at the end of an ad with kids toys a big deal or not?

As a parent, it bothered me on a lot of different levels, like the fact there are images of kids playing right above it.

Am I over-thinking this, and why did it bother me so much?

There’s just something about it that feels wrong. Or am I just getting old?

This little guy was hiding at the very bottom of the ad. Doll? When did the lines between adult sexual aides blur with children's toys?

This little guy was hiding at the very bottom of the ad. Doll? Not exactly. When did the lines between adult sexual aids blur with children’s toys?

8 thoughts on “The Fab ad that made me shake my head and complain (why parenting is hard)

  1. Ew. To be honest, I’ve always found that site a little creepy. It feels like a site that caters to plushies or something. Don’t get me wrong, they do have some cool things and I once ordered something from them. To me it looks an adult site advertising toys for adults who like kids things. I think. They definitely blurred the lines too much here and it’s gross. I noticed that the navigation bar on the site has are choices for men, women, and pets. Not kids. Weird and creepy.

    • Margie,

      Thanks for commenting. In thinking about what you wrote, I remembered a place in malls called Spencer’s Gifts. When I was a kid, it was the coolest store ever. It had blacklight posters and shirts and odd gifts. However, buried in the store was a section of adult toys, which gave it a dangerous quality, which as a kid was cool, but must have made my mother unhappy.

      I like Fab, especially their customer service. However, I agree with you about blurred lines, which is funny because that’s the name of a huge hit song this summer. So, as a new company, they hopefully will learn from this that they may want to be a little more careful in the future about their product mix and blurring lines.

      UC

  2. The world needs more parents to take a stand to protect children. Our society used to value the innocence of children and stand ready in defense. I declare you Super Parent Extraordinaire for your efforts! Your daughter is one lucky gal.

    • Sherri,

      You are too kind. I’m not sure that was my motivation, as much as the email got under my skin because I didn’t like the mix of elements and the way it made me feel. But thank you all the same. It’s a young company and all I hope is they be more careful next time.

      Thanks for taking the time to write a comment. Much appreciated.

      UC

    • Dear Fab Crackerjacks,

      Many thanks for the way your company has responded. Top notch, as always. You really care about your customers.

      I’ve said everything I have to say on it and made my point and you have listened. Nothing more for me to say other than I would hope Fab could do a better job of separating items considered cornerstones of childhood with items considered to be for the privacy of the adult bedroom. It would make my job as a parent much easier because even I realize how my child was created, and it wasn’t via delivery from a stork. 🙂

      Best regards,

      UC

Leave a Reply

